Corn and Cantaloupe Chopped Salad

In late spring I’m really anxious to get out my summer recipes — especially my favorite salads,  but by mid-summer I’m tired of them and ready for new salad ideas.  My dear friend Joan sent me this recipe this week. Don’t know where she got it but it looks like a  good one.  I’m allergic to melon so I won’t even be eating it,  but Joan said she served it at a party and it was a hit.   So,  if you’re looking for a new, unusual salad,  this may be just what you want to try.

CORN AND CANTALOUPE CHOPPED SALAD

2 cups fresh corn kernels (4 ears)
½ small cantaloupe cubed (2 cups)
½ red chile pepper, seeded and minced
½ medium red onion, diced (1/2 cup)
1 tablespoon fresh dill
1 lemon juiced (2 Tablespoons)
2 tablespoons Olive oil
1 teaspoon dry mustard
1 cup mixed spring greens

Cook corn in salted boiling water 2-3 minutes. Drain, rinse until cool.  Cut ofimagesf cob into a bowl.  Add cantaloupe, chile pepper, onion and dill. Toss to combine.

RSS_FCF_Cantaloupe_ChunksIn a bowl or small jar combine lemon juice, olive oil and dry mustard.  Pour over corn mixture and stir to coat.  Season to taste with salt.  Let stand at least 5 mins.

To serve, add greens and toss.

(Joan’s Note: I have kept the cantaloupe mix in a separate bowl in the fridge and only add greens when I want to serve it.  Or I serve without greens (it is sort of like a relish then).

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and Food thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

