Shirley’s Corn and Blueberry Salad

(Continuing my summer salad theme – Day 4)

My cousin Shirley, whom I haven’t seen for far too long,  sent me this recipe this morning.  I love new recipes when they’re already tested by a friend, so I’m posting it before I try it. This has a lot of the same ingredients as the Mexican Bean Salad (lemon, lime, cilantro, cumin) so it must be good!  And I like the addition of honey.  Here in southern New Jersey we live in blueberry country; they’re at every farm stand and produce outlet and we also have GREAT corn (it’s the Garden State! )  so this combination should be a happy one.

Shirley’s Corn and Blueberry Salad*

6 ears corn, cooked briefly and cut off  the cob
1 cup fresh blueberries
1 small cucumber, sliced
1 cup finely chopped red onion
¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely chopped**

2 Tbsp. lime juice
2 Tbsp. olive oil
1 tbsp. honey
½ tsp. ground cumin
1/2 tsp. salt

Mix dressing in screw top jar and shake well to combine then add to salad. Toss and refrigerate overnight.

*(When I searched the internet for this recipe, I found it on the Better Homes & Garden website.  Kitchen tested.  But Shirley got it somewhere else.)

** You can omit the jalapeño

This entry was posted in Recipes and Food thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shirley’s Corn and Blueberry Salad

  1. Lisa M says:

    I just got a blueberries at the market…this sounds delightful…I think I will add this to the menu for my husband’s birthday cookout! I love a new recipe

    Like

Leave a Reply

