Bill Curry’s Cucumber Salad

(Summer Salads – Day 5)

When I was in high school,  I began working as a reporter for my hometown newspaper,  The Waynesboro Record Herald,  in south central Pennsylvania.  I started as a school reporter with a weekly column and that grew into a summer job which I did every year through college, paying for my clothes and school expenses.  The editor of the paper was a great guy, almost a caricature of the pipe-smoking, hard-knocking newspaperman with a desk piled high  (no computers at that time), a good sense of humor,  and a kindly manner when it came to my mistakes, the worst of which was the summer that I had to replace the sports editor and try to write that hard-verbed sports lingo that I didn’t understand.  Many times the all-male editorial staff had a good laugh at my expense.  

Bill liked to cook and gave me a number of his favorite recipes.  The best of all — and the one I make many times throughout the year,  is his cucumber salad.  It’s probably the easiest recipe in my kitchen,Cucumber Salad Close-Up and it’s the best with its perfectly balanced sweet-sour Pennsylvania Dutch flavor   It just fits a quart Mason jar and keeps up to two weeks in the refrigerator.  You can add dill but I like it just plain.

 Bill Curry’s Cucumber Salad

2 medium cucumbers peeled and sliced thin
1 medium sweet onion sliced thin
Salt (several tablespoons)

Dressing:
½ cup vinegar
½ cup sugar
¾ cup water

DIRECTIONS:
 Combine dressing ingredients in a quart jar. Thinly slice cucumbers and
onion, salt them generously and let stand 20 min. Then rinse well and drain.

Put cucumbers and onions into the jar, pour dressing over and let stand at least 24 hours in refrigerator.

This entry was posted in Recipes and Food thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

