It’s Never too Late for Gazpacho

Soup Recipe #2

I love gazpacho.  So does my friend Joan,  so when she visits I like to make it.  Otherwise,  I have a HUGE amount of gazpacho to eat  by myself.  She’s visiting us in a few weeks, so I’ll make it then even though it’s no longer summer.

I actually found this chilled soup recipe many years ago in Gourmet magazine and have been making it every summer since then.  It’s so refreshing, especially when the weather’s really hot, but I can eat it anytime.  I like to make it special by adding freshly grated lemon peel,  chopped vegetables, and fresh dill when I put it into the bowls to serve.

Nancys Gazpacho

Nancys Gazpacho

Gazpacho

3 cucumbers peeled
1 Vidalia onion
4 garlic cloves, chopped
2 large cans whole, peeled tomatoes
2 bell peppers chopped (1 red, 1 green)
1-2 (or more) cups tomato juice
2 cups French bread crumbs – soft
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
2 Tbsp. salt
Pepper to taste
Fresh dill,  freshly grated peel of a lemon

Chop vegetables (set some aside to add after blending) and combine with bread crumbs and seasonings in a bowl.
Puree in blender 2 cups at a time, 60 seconds each time.  Add chopped vegetables that were set aside.  Adjust seasonings and chill well.

Chop some more vegetables and add them to each bowl of soup as your serve it.  Then top with dill and grated lemon peel.

Tomorrow:  Chilled Peach Soup with Cinnamon Croutons

This entry was posted in Recipes and Food thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

